Lead photo credit: Oklahoma Athletics

The Oklahoma Sooners softball team made history by becoming the first Division I team to win four consecutive national titles. They defeated their rival, the Texas Longhorns, with a final score of 8-4 in Game 2 of the Women’s College World Series championship series. This victory marked their eighth national championship under coach Patty Gasso.

The game was fiercely contested, with the Longhorns initially taking a 1-0 lead in the second inning. However, the Sooners fought back, taking the lead in the fourth inning with a three-run double from infielder Cydney Sanders. Oklahoma padded their lead behind a three-run sixth inning.

Grad transfer pitcher Kelly Maxwell won the 2024 WCWS Most Outstanding Player award.

This historic achievement solidifies Oklahoma’s dominance in college softball and caps off an incredible season for the team.